LOG ENTRY #38 – Pre-Midnight Relaxation + Random Musings


Don’t you just adore YouTube artists? They’re so great at what they do… most of the time. And YouTube videos in general? They’re just so convenient when you want to go through all the music you could ever want. ย Since it’s Friday night, and I’ve just survived my first week of exams, and not done too well in my History and Culture exam today – I needed a break. So, I searched for new music and listened to old favorites.

A Thousand Miles – Vanessa Carlton. Cover by Boyce Avenue ft Alex Goot

This song has been on repeat and once, I listened to nothing but this for 40-minutes continuously, on my way to school. There’s just something so perfect about nice tunes and the crisp, morning air. ๐Ÿ™‚

Set Fire To The Rain – Adele. Cover by Boyce Avenue

More than Adele’s super-hit Rolling In The Deep, I fell in love with other more obscure songs of hers. I knew about this one ^ before anyone had gotten over RITD.

By and by, what do you guys think about late-night study? Can one survive without it? Can one complete one’s syllabus without it? I believe so. I’ve proved it true all these years. But every morning, I go to school and all these people are staggering to school, bragging with their eyes drooping and uniforms unbuttoned (don’t take this the wrong way. I merely mean they forget that their top button is looking really weird) and going like “I slept for one hour. I’m soooo dead, yaar!” or “Listen – I’m failing. I didn’t sleep! I. did. not. sleep.”

I’ve become immune to all of this. I didn’t understand initially why people feel the need to stay up all night. We all have the same number of hours every day, and every minute of it is equally precious to all of us. And a lot of my time is wasted in commuting – going to school and coming back. That amounts to nearly an hour and a half. So, if I can manage to sleep at 12.30 a.m. and get done with learning up nearly three centuries of the subcontinent-cum-Pakistani history (1700-1999) everybody else sure as heck can too! They don’t need to stay up till 4 a.m. or 5 a.m. or stay sleep deprived!

Digression. Blekh.

Anyway – where was I?

Red – Taylor Swift

I know this is irrelevant, sort of, since Taylor isn’t a YouTube artist. But this was on my YouTube playlist. So, meh. Does anyone else love her guitar? The red-ness is so cool. ^.^

The Right Way To Fall – Natasha Humera Ejaz

This person is just so amazing. She isn’t a YouTube artist, but she’s an up-and-coming Pakistani singer. I love love love her voice!

It is now 11.30 p.m. I started writing this post at 11. I get distracted by music so easily. I’ll write all official-log style now:

11.31 p.m. – listening to Today Is a Place by Natasha Humera Ejaz. Wondering if I like it.

11.33 p.m. – ย Check this out:

Hi, wanna get together? Forever? 8)

11.34 p.m. – My brother’s watching Smack Down. I hate it when boys lose their sense of hearing whenever their in front of a match. Of any kind.

11.36 p.m. – Oh my! Look the orange-plus sign-in-the-circle! Someone’s followed me! ๐Ÿ˜€ #joy

11.38 p.m. – Just because I’m feeling happy right now, I shall ping-back my 34th follower!

11.39 p.m. – Is it weird that I haven’t even checked out her blog yet? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

11.41 p.m. – Today Is A Place – Natasha Humera Ejaz

I’ve had enough of this for one night. ๐Ÿ˜› Here’s one last, old favorite of mine. Even though most probably won’t understand it since it’s in Urdu, but hopefully it’ll still be fun to listen to.

O Humdum/Say My Name – The Cheapmunks

p.s. i just checked it out – I am the only person talking about/using the tag ‘Natasha Humera Ejaz’,’ Uth Records’ and ‘The Cheapmunks’. So, yay for that? O.o (I’m disappointed in you WordPress people!)

12 thoughts on “LOG ENTRY #38 – Pre-Midnight Relaxation + Random Musings

    1. Really?! Well, I’m glad I introduced you to Boyce Avenue. You should definitely go check out the rest of their covers on YouTube! They’re all really good, especially ‘She Will Be Loved’. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. “Set Fire to the Rain” is obscure? Hmmm. I like her popular stuff too, but “Set Fire to the Rain” is probably my favorite. Also, one can write really good LotR-related parodies of it. *nods*

    1. Well – it used to be when I first fell in love with it, which was DEFINITELY before anyone knew of it. Whenever I like an artist’s song, instead of overplaying that one song – I look up their albums.
      Hahahaha – what do you mean by that? ๐Ÿ˜€ You take inspiration from the music, or it helps you write, or is it simply a good soundtrack? ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

