LOG ENTRY #18 – New Taylor Swift Song!


#1 on iTunes in 27 countries. Entertainment Weekly calls the hook “undeniable” and “instantly catchy” … download “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” on iTunes now…

Check out this exclusive ABC interview with Taylor — she talks about her upcoming album RED and the story behind the new single “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”http://tswift.co/NeDDz9
The BRAND NEW single “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together,” off Taylor’s new album RED, will be available for purchase on iTunes and the 
Google Play Store – Android new Market later TONIGHT!
– – – – – – – –
And so starts yet another Taylor Swift-song hype.
The above 3 updates I got from Taylor’s Facebook page. 26,000, 37,000, 100-something thousand likes, faster than you can say “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”.
Red is her new album, coming out on October 22nd, and needless to say, I simply cannot wait.
I am a HUGE Taylor Swift fan. Like huge. (And yes, that was a direct hint to the song I am blogging about)
I obsessively collect pictures of her, have posters of her in my bedroom and think she’s super pretty and love her songs and know most of (read: a lot of) them off by heart.
That obviously means I will like/love all of her songs, without any critical analysis of the song itself. Does it deserve to be liked? Does it deserve the top spot – that it snags almost immediately – after release? Does the critiquing even matter?
Let’s not get into all that. I am here to review (yes, review) a Taylor Swift song. For the first time in my life, I am forced to question a Swift song…
Give it a listen and I’ll tell you why.
What I Love:
  • The lyrics. Edgy, catchy, sarcastic, and the same old story-telling magic. 🙂
  • The beat and the rhythm.
  • The lyric video. 😛
  • The fact that it’s a feel-good, all-round listen-able song.

What I Don’t Like:

  • (And this really bothered me) : Is this song country? Can it be classified as being from the country genre? Where are the twangy guitar beats I was looking for, that I love? Sure, the song started off with a nice guitar rhythm, but it sort of got lost in the electro-beats and the shout-y chorus.
  • The chorus. It could have been a leeetle bit more memorable if  it had been a bit more soulful and melodic. It was a good chorus – just, not what I was expecting.

I guess what really bothered me was the fact that this song seems purely pop and full of electronic beats. I think the reason I love it, is because it’s like one of those songs you would hear on the radio and instantly love because it’s so fun. But why I disappointed, is that this isn’t Taylor! It’s not a charming song.

Maybe, just maybe, it was trying to hard to be current.

[And now I hate myself for criticizing a Taylor Swift song]

-__-

Nonetheless, I am SO psyched for Red! 😀 Going out and buying the album will be my treat to myself, right after the major October Tests in school.

4 thoughts on “LOG ENTRY #18 – New Taylor Swift Song!

  1. I didn’t like the song at first, but it grew on me. As did most of her stuff. The only part I still don’t like is all the little comments about, “Like, ever.” I felt they detracted from the actual singing…

Leave a Reply

