LOG ENTRY #41 – You, me and no-one else.


In response to: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/daily-prompt-fear/

- – – – – – – -

There are many ‘intellectually-appealing’ ways that I could go about this. I could write about something really deep and philosophical and how it terrifies me.

But let’s keep it very basic and true.

I read the the Daily Prompt. And this is what went through my mind:

I’m sitting crouched on my bed. My knees ache from their constant, bent position. I’ve been sitting like this for the past eight hours. My brother is asleep on his bed, his foot-ball blanket drawn up above his head. And I am surrounded by papers that have a lot of things scribbled on them. My eyes run over a few swear words squeezed in here and there between all the mathematical babble. My purplish-pink, and midnight blue, 400-page, Mathematics books lie at the end of the bed, where I just kicked them to. I don’t mean this figuratively. I really did kick them. Hard.

Whenever their around – its like their sucking all the happiness and hope out of me. More importantly – hope.

I glance up wearily at the clock once again and curse. Its almost like the clock-face is mocking my helplessness. An hour to 1 a.m.

Yeah, I know. That’s not too late.

Buddy – I’m the sort of loser who starts switching off at 10.00 p.m. and is brain-dead by 11.00 p.m.

So this is a hellish situation to be in for me.

My eyelids feel so heavy and I can feel my pillow against my back. If only I could fall back for five minutes.. that couldn’t hurt.

No! Exam at 8.30 a.m.

Need. To. Stay. Awake.

I’ll fail.

I think I should give up.

No! The grades! The report card.

Must. Avoid. Red. Marks.

A triangle stares up at me. “Does my butt look congruent to you?”

“You look very similar to every triangle I’ve ever laid eyes on.”

I’m talking to my book. I need some sleep.

Its very dark behind the curtains. The darkness always unsettles me. Especially when I’m trying to study. The darkness reminds me that the day is long gone. Its time for normal people to be in bed. Unwinding, sleeping or reading.

But then again – I’m telling myself that I’ll actually be able to stay up, complete my syllabus, understand every bit of it, get a good night’s sleep and give an exam. I’m not normal.

Well – not sane, at any rate.

Darn these numbers! They just love staring at me. Why can’t those pie-signs turn into real pies? Make some use of their (evil) magical abilities.

- – – – – – -

These thoughts are making me very depressed. Especially since my exams finished three weeks ago, and today was my first day back at school.

Let’s leave my fears at that.. :)

8 thoughts on “LOG ENTRY #41 – You, me and no-one else.

  1. Being a medical student (a frustrated one at that), I have often kicked my books to the edge of the bed – so yeah, you doing that not weird at all :p
    Mathematics used to scare me too, so I’m glad I got rid of it :D
    Nice post.

    1. A med student, huh? Good luck! And I’m saying that very sincerely.
      I see from your username that you’re from around where I come from.. :P
      And congratulations on conquering Math. I’ve been trying for so long.. still struggling. -_-
      Thank you! :)

      1. Yes, I stumbled across your blog through a freshly pressed post :D I’m glad I did :)
        Yeah, well I only got rid of it when I opted Biology xD

      2. A freshly pressed? Whose? :)
        I’m glad you did too! Always feels nice to know people are reading..
        I don’t like Biology!! D: I prefer Physics.

Leave a Reply

